Song of the day (10/13/06)

In 1963, early vietnam misery, Bob Dylan scrolled along and brought us Masters of War.

Dylan!

It’s just a guitar, no drums (batterij in Flemish!) and not even his trademark harmonica. I love a lot of Bob Dylan’s music, even though I sometimes feel too stupid to understand everything he sings about. But this song is very, very clear. It’s one of the most vicious anti-war songs I’ve ever heard. “Like Judas of old you lie and deceive. A world war can be won you want me to believe. But I see through your eyes and I see through your brain like I can see through the water that runs down my drain

He ends his rant with the nastiest note ever:

And I hope that you die
And your death’ll come soon
I will follow your casket
In the pale afternoon
And I’ll watch while you’re lowered
Down to your deathbed
And I’ll stand o’er your grave
‘Til I’m sure that you’re dead

Talk about spite! This dude was rather clear on his stance against war.

It’s just a very refreshing song in this world of nuance. I recommend everyone to check it out, unless you’re a conservative of some kind 😛

Leave a Reply

