For Victory!

Nowadays, it is not uncommon to see the usage of the abbreviation “FTW“. It means For The Win (or For Teh Win) and can be used both sincerely and mockingly.

I’ve been generously using it myself, so you can imagine my glee when I found out that over half a century ago, people said “For Victory!”.

I stumbled upon this after my mum shoved me another link about a short 1942  film called “Hemp For Victory“. The link can be found all over internet nowadays because it shows the hypocrisy of the US government demonizing hemp whilst they actually promoted it and encouraged farmers to grow it in 1942 for the war effort. You can watch the video here or just google it yourself.
Of course, there is a difference between growing cannabis to be used as rope and growing it for smoking. Still, it’s weird that the US govt feels it’s necessary to ban a multi-purpose plant altogether. Why the hell ban nature, anyway?

Leave a Reply

